Son Of Sam - Cinder Hill

Regular price £20.00

Format: 2 x Black Vinyl

Release Date: 29th September 2017


This album has been many years in the making. We wrote a lot of our own material, but we never properly recorded it in a studio, we did however make lots of "one mic" recordings onto a mini-disk player. Tom kept hold of all of these recordings and in 2011 send copies of everything to the rest of the band. A short list of 30 were chosen to record properly. A basic studio was booked, and recording began, initially it was pretty basic, just drums, bass & keys with guitars overdubbed the following day. With these foundation rhythm tracks Tom went away and edited them, creating structure, extra layers and demo mixes. These demo mixes were used to send to MCs. El Da Sensei & Sadat X were the first to respond to our request, and soon features were flying through ever other week. We actually had enough material for 2 albums, but picked what we wanted to represent our first release which became Cinder Hill...


1. Intro (feat. John Robinson)

2. Continuation (feat. J-Live)

3. Across The Bridge (feat. Sadat X & El Da Sensei)

4. Trees For The Jungle (feat. The Black Opera & Sabira Jade)

5. Malt Liquor (feat. Guilty Simpson & Fat Ray)

6. Put It On Ya (feat. Soundsci & Mr Thing)

7. Fighting Talk (feat. Lifford & Blaise B)

8. Flying Fist (feat. Prince Po)

9. Deep Breath (feat. Jamall Bufford)

10. Moose Python (feat. Dumbtron)

11. Coastin' (feat. John Robinson)

12. Soothsayers (feat. The Black Opera)

13. System Animal (feat. Denmark Vessey)

14. The Life & Death Of Phenomenal Don (feat. Quelle Chris)

15. Come A Long Way (feat. Masta Ace & Large Pro)

16. Forward March (feat. Oxygen & 7even Thirty)

17. That's Facts (feat. Edo G, John Robinson, Prince Po, Soundsci, Reks, yU & Denmark Vessey)


Produced by Tom Caruana 

John Sam - Drums 
Joe Sam - Bass & Guitars 
Richard Halligan - Keys, saxes & flute 
Tom Caruana - Percussion, piano, samples and clav on 10 & 14 

Additional musicians: 
Amy Turk - Harp 
Dominic Sewell - Violin & viola 
Rebecca Sewell - Violin on Flying Fist 
TJ Holmes - Cello on Come A Long Way 
Andy Watts - Trumpet on Across The Bridge, Deep Breath & Phenomenal Don 
Laura Impallomeni - Trombone on Across The Bridge 
Sabira Jade - Singing on Trees For The Jungle & Coastin' 
Andy Vickery - Guitar solo on Put It On Ya 
Mr Thing - Cuts on Put It On Ya 
DJ Jon Doe - Cuts on Coastin' 
DJ Manipulate - Cuts on Flying Fist, Soothsayers, System Animal & That's Facts 
Dan Tuff - Cuts on Forward March 

String Arrangements: 
Continuation by Tom Caruana 
Fighting Talk & Flying Fist by Richard Halligan 
Come A Long Way by Richard Halligan & Dominic Sewell 

Mixed & mastered by Doctor Mix 
Artwork by Rowan Burkam 
Design by Rob Crespo 
Album comes with digital download upon purchase